Home / College Football / New College Football Playoff Format Now Set

New College Football Playoff Format Now Set

Conference commissioners and university presidents have come up with a rotating bowl system to accommodate a new college football playoff that will start in 2014.

The national semifinals will rotate through six bowl games to set up four major bowl games and two playoff games each season.   The national title game will be bid out separately.

The six bowls will have “host bowls” and “contract bowls” with spots in the contract bowls reserved for leagues that have deals with those particular bowls.   The Rose Bowl will feature Pac 12/Big 10; the Sugar Bowl will feature SEC/Big 12 and the Orange Bowl will feature ACC and a league to be determined.

In a new twist, the top team from the other five conferences not called the SEC, Big 10, Big 12, Pac 12 and ACC will be assured a spot in one of the host bowls.   An as yet undetermined selection committee will pick the four playoff teams and fill the spots in the host bowls.

About Steve Russell

Check Also

Mar 12, 2016; Jupiter, FL, USA; St. Louis Cardinals pinch hitter Harrison Bader is congratulated after the victory over the Houston Astros during the game at Roger Dean Stadium. The Cardinals defeated the Astros 4-3. Mandatory Credit: Scott Rovak-USA TODAY Sports

Former Gator Harrison Bader Making Impact In Double A

Harrison Bader is a known name to many Florida Gator baseball fans. The right fielder …