Home / College Football / Two Gators Up For College Football Awards Don’t Win

Two Gators Up For College Football Awards Don’t Win

The 22nd Home Depot College Football Awards are history now after the program took place last night down in Orlando.   The Gator football program had two players up for awards in sophomore punter Kyle Christy and redshirt senior placekicker Caleb Sturgis.

Sturgis was one of three finalists for the Lou Groza Award for the second consecutive season; the award is given to college football’s beat placekicker.  Florida State’s Dustin Hopkins and Tulane’s Cario Santos were the other finalists and Santos got the awards.

Christy was one of three finalists for the Ray Guy Award, signifying the nation’s best collegiate punter.   Christy averaged 46 yards per punt on 62 punts for Florida this season, and was a finalist along with Louisiana Tech’s Ryan Allen and Ball State’s Scott Kovanda.  Allen won the award.

Despite this, Christy thanks his high school coach for making him punt because if it wasn’t for him he wouldn’t have earned a scholarship for it.

ESPN broadcast the awards ceremony.

Check Also

Jun 19, 2015; Omaha, NE, USA; Florida Gators batter Ryan Larson (66) congratulates runner JJ Schwarz (22) after Schwarz scored against the Virginia Cavaliers in the seventh inning in the 2015 College World Series at TD Ameritrade Park. Florida won 10-5. Mandatory Credit: Bruce Thorson-USA TODAY Sports

Gator Baseball Prepping for Another CWS Run

It’s not every day a team can say they were voted No. 1 in the …