Home / College Football / College Football Playoffs made official

College Football Playoffs made official

The new college football postseason was officially named the College Football Playoffs in a BCS meeting Wednesday.

Florida Gators coach Will Muschamp says he’s good with name of the new system.

The new playoffs are set to commence after the 2014 regular season. The championship game will be held January 12, 2015.

The first ever college championship is set to take place in the Cowboys stadium in Dallas, Texas.

The Fiesta, Cotton, and Chick-Fil-A bowls most likely will join the Rose, Sugar, and Orange bowls in the six bowl semifinal rotation for the new playoffs.

ESPN reported that the Chick-Fil-A bowl will change its name to the Chic-Fil-A Peach Bowl.

According to media reports, the Rose and Sugar will be first to host the semifinals, followed by the Orange and Cotton in year two and the Fiesta and Chick-fil-A in year three. The rotation will then repeat itself every three years.

The commissioners will now turn their attention to a selection committee. Louisiana State University football coach Les Miles says whoever is chosen needs to be dedicated to the position.

Miles adds that retired coaches should have a role in the selection process.

It has not yet been decided on who will be a member of the committee.

About Kelli Eichorn

Check Also

Jan 22, 2017; Atlanta, GA, USA; Atlanta Falcons wide receiver Eric Weems (14) dumps gatorade on head coach Dan Quinn during the fourth quarter in the 2017 NFC Championship Game against the Green Bay Packers at the Georgia Dome. Atlanta won 44-21. Mandatory Credit: John David Mercer-USA TODAY Sports

Super Bowl Preview: Falcons Make Second Appearnce

For just the second time in franchise history, the Atlanta Falcons are heading to the …