2012 NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament Final Four Is Set

After Sunday night, the 2012 NCAA men’s basketball tournament’s Final Four is set. Kentucky and Kansas joined Louisville and Ohio State as the last four alive as the spotlight shifts to New Orleans, Louisiana.

Kentucky is the lone number one seed left in the tournament. The SEC champs entered the tournament with a target on their backs after being declared the number one overall seed and have lived up to the hype thus far. The Wildcats’ journey to the Final Four includes wins against Western Kentucky, Iowa State, and Baylor. Kentucky’s 82-70 win over Baylor sent the Wildcats to their 15th Final Four appearance. Kentucky Head Coach John Calipari led the Wildcats to last year’s Final Four, but the Wildcats haven’t been crowned as champions since 1998.

Kentucky will take on Louisville in a battle for the bluegrass state. Louisville will look to avenge the 69-62 loss the Wildcats handed them back on December 31st.

The Cardinals were able to finish on a 23-8 run to defeat the Florida Gators 72-68 on Saturday to advance to their 9th Final Four appearance. Louisville Head Coach Rick Pitino has lead the Cardinals to wins over Davidson, New Mexico, Michigan State, and Florida. The Cardinals haven’t advanced to the title game since winning it all back in 1986.

Kentucky and Louisville tip off at 6:09pm on Saturday.

Ohio State knocked off the East number one seed Syracuse on Saturday 77-70 to send the Buckeyes to their 11th Final Four. Ohio State’s path to New Orleans includes victories over Loyola (Maryland), Gonzaga, Cincinnati, and Syracuse. The Buckeyes will look to advance to their first title game since 2007 when they were cut down by the Gators. Ohio State hasn’t won a National Championship since 1960.

Ohio State will square off against fellow number two seed Kansas in just the second meeting of number two seeds since the seeding process started in 1979. The previous matchup featuring number two seeds was back in 1995 when North Carolina and Arkansas collided.

The Jayhawks took down the North Carolina Tar Heels 80-67 on Sunday to send them to their 14th Final Four. Kansas defeated Detroit, Purdue, North Carolina State, and North Carolina on their way to New Orleans. Kansas Head Coach Bill Self led the Jayhawks to a National title in 2008 against John Calipari’s Memphis Tigers.

Ohio State and Kansas tip off at 8:49pm on Saturday.


About Michael Cadigan

Check Also

Can Anyone Topple Georgia? The Nine Teams Still in the Playoff Race

One week of regular season football to go. Nine teams with a shot at the …