2012 NCAA Men’s Basketball National Championship Tonight

March Madness began with 68 teams dreaming of cutting down the nets in New Orleans, Louisiana on April 2nd. Those 68 teams have now become two. The Kentucky Wildcats and the Kansas Jayhawks are the last teams left standing and after tonight one of them will be crowned champion.

The Kentucky Wildcats took care of business against their in state rivals in the Louisville Cardinals 69-61 on Saturday. The Assosciated Press National Player of the Year Anthony Davis led the Wildcats with 18 points, 14 rebounds, and five blocks.

The Kansas Jayhawks knocked off the Ohio State Buckeyes 64-62 on Saturday punching their ticket for a date with the Wildcats in the title game. Kansas Guard Travis Releford recorded 15 points, six boards, and two steals in the win.

Kentucky Head Coach John Calipari says the Wildcats will have to play their best ball in order to be the ones cutting down the nets when the dust settles.

The title game features the battle between two All-Americans in Kentucky’s Anthony Davis and Kansas’s Thomas Robinson. Davis averages 14.3 points and ten rebounds per game for the Wildcats and Robinson leads the Jayhawks with 17.9 points and 11.8 rebounds per game.

The 2012 Naismith Coach of the Year and Kansas Head Coach Bill Self says both teams are left standing for a reason.

The Kentucky-Kansas championship game will be the fourth time the title game pits two schools with the same first letter against one another. The last time this took place was the 1951 chamionship game between Kentucky and Kansas State. Kentucky emerged victorious 68-58.

You can catch the Wildcats and the Jayhawks on WRUF Sports Radio 850 beginning at 7pm with tip set for 9:23pm.

About Michael Cadigan

Check Also

Florida’s Participation In NCAA Baseball Regional Uncertain

Now that their stay in the SEC Baseball Tournament at Hoover Metropolitan Stadium was one …