No Player Elected To Baseball Hall Of Fame

For only the eighth time since the Baseball Writers’ Association of America began inducting players into the Baseball Hall of Fame in 1936, no players have been inducted into this year’s class.  The last time no player was elected into the Hall of Fame was in 1996.

Former Houston Astro Craig Biggio came the closest with 68.2 percent of the vote, falling short of the needed 75 percent to be enshrined.  Biggio played his entire 20 year career with the Astros and this was the first year he was eligible to be inducted.  Joining Biggio as potential first year inductees were Barry Bonds, Sammy Sosa, Mike Piazza, Curt Schilling and Roger Clemens but they too fell short of induction.

The second highest vote went to pitcher Jack Morris with 67.7 percent followed by Biggio teammate Jeff Bagwell with 59.6 percent of the vote.

About Chris Lee

Check Also

David Ortiz Heads Into Cooperstown And Baseball Hall of Fame

The National Baseball Hall of Fame added only one member in its 2022 class on …

Leave a Reply