UF to Celebrate Athletic Hall Of Fame Inductees Before Homecoming Game

Eight former Gators greats will be inducted into the UF Athletic Hall of Fame Friday. The class of former star athletes varies between different sports and includes one honorary letterman.

Kelsey Bruder (softball), Omar Craddock (men’s track and field), Lauren Embree (woman’s tennis), Jabar Gaffney (football), Corey Hartung (gymnastics), Kelly Murphy (volleyball), Erika Tymrak (soccer) and Marc Valdes (baseball) were all selected, while former men’s and women’s swimming coach Skip Foster will be an honorary letterman.

Big Hall of Fame Names

These Florida alum are being honored for a reason.

To be a Gators great, athletes must have been letter-winners who brought recognition and prominence to the University and themselves.  The eight nominees will join the over 3oo Gators greats, joining the likes of those such as Tim Tebow, Chris Collinsworth and Al Horford.

All eight inductees have seen incredible success in their respective sports, with each one being named either an all-American or all-SEC first team in their collegiate career.

The list also includes multiple former professional athletes, such as former UF wide receiver Jamar Gaffney, who played 10 years in the NFL, and UF baseball’s Marc Valdes, who played six years in the MLB.

Gaffney was a star pass catcher for the gators, but he may be known better for his controversial game winning touchdown catch against rival Tennessee in 2000, a touchdown that still may haunt Volunteers fans to this day.

The Hall of Fame banquet will be held just before homecoming weekend, starting Friday at 6 p.m.

About Dylan Olive

Check Also

Florida Baseball Steals Game At No. 9 Georgia In 10 Innings

What a baseball game between the Florida Gators and Georgia Bulldogs on Friday in Athens, …