Florida Kicker Caleb Sturgis is Named Semifinalist

****Courtesy of University of Florida Communications*****


Kicker Caleb Sturgis Named a Semifinalist for National Football Foundation’s William V. Campbell Trophy


DALLAS – University of Florida kicker Caleb Sturgis has been named a semifinalist for the National Football Foundation’s William V. Campbell Trophy, which recognizes an individual as the top football scholar-athlete in the nation.

Sturgis is currently pursuing a graduate degree in management after receiving his bachelor’s degree in December of 2011. He is a three-time Southeastern Conference Honor Roll member and four-year letterman on the football team. On the field, he was named a finalist for the 2011 Lou Groza Award, given annually to the nation’s top kicker, and was a preseason All-America selection by many major news outlets in 2012.

The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame announced today the 147 candidates for the 2012 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards, presented by Fidelity Investments(r), a leading provider of not-for-profit workplace retirement savings plans in higher education. The 147 nominees also comprise the list of semifinalists for the 2012 William V. Campbell Trophy, endowed by HealthSouth.

“This year’s candidates truly embody the National Football Foundation’s mission of building leaders through football,” said NFF Chairman Archie Manning whose sons Peyton (1997 Campbell Trophy winner) and Eli were named NFF National Scholar-Athletes in 1997 and 2003, respectively. “They are standouts in the classroom and on the field and have become leaders in their respective communities. Each school should take great pride in being represented by such well-rounded young men who will undoubtedly go on to do great things in life.”

Candidates for the award must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor, and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.

“The NFF would like to personally congratulate each of the nominees for maintaining such high standards throughout their collegiate careers,” said NFF President & CEO Steven J. Hatchell. “We are extremely proud to showcase their achievements, and there is no question that the NFF Awards Committee will have an incredibly difficult task in selecting the final group of honorees from among this esteemed group.”

The NFF Awards Committee will select up to 16 recipients, and the results will be announced via a national press release on Thursday, October 25. Each recipient will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship, and they will vie as finalists for the 2012 William V. Campbell Trophy. Each member of the 2012 National Scholar-Athlete Class will also travel to New York City to be honored December 4 during the 55th NFF Annual Awards Dinner at the Waldorf-Astoria where their accomplishments will be highlighted in front of one of the most powerful audiences in all of sports. One member of the class will also be announced live at the event as the winner of the Campbell Trophy.

Named in honor of Bill Campbell, the chairman of Intuit, former player and head coach at Columbia University and the 2004 recipient of the NFF’s Gold Medal, the award comes with a 25-pound bronze trophy and increases the amount of the recipient’s grant by $7,000 for a total post-graduate scholarship of $25,000. A total distribution of $300,000 in scholarships will be awarded at the NFF Annual Awards Dinner, pushing the program’s all-time distributions to more than $10.1 million.

Launched in 1959, the NFF scholar-athlete program became the first initiative in history to award post-graduate scholarships based on both a player’s academic and athletic accomplishments. The Campbell Trophy, first awarded in 1990, adds to the program’s mystique, having previously honored two Rhodes Scholars, a Rhodes Scholar finalist, two Heisman Trophy winners and five first-round NFL draft picks.

In 2011, the NFF and Fidelity launched a multi-year initiative between the two organizations to celebrate the scholar-athlete ideal and a joint commitment to higher education. As part of the initiative, Fidelity became the first presenting sponsor ever in the 54-year history of the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards program. Fidelity also helped launch the NFF Faculty Salutes Initiative, which recognizes the contributions of the faculty athletics representatives at each of the institutions with an NFF National Scholar-Athlete. As part of the initiative, the NFF will present each of the faculty representatives with a plaque and a $5,000 check from Fidelity Investments to support the academic support services for student-athletes at each school.


The past recipients of the Campbell Trophy include: Air Force’s Chris Howard (1990); Florida’s Brad Culpepper (1991); Colorado’s Jim Hansen (1992); Virginia’s Thomas Burns (1993); Nebraska’s Rob Zatechka (1994); Ohio State’s Bobby Hoying (1995); Florida’s Danny Wuerffel (1996); Tennessee’s Peyton Manning (1997); Georgia’s Matt Stinchcomb (1998); Marshall’s Chad Pennington (1999); Nebraska’s Kyle Vanden Bosch (2000); Miami’s (Fla.) Joaquin Gonzalez (2001); Washington University in St. Louis’ Brandon Roberts (2002); Ohio State’s Craig Krenzel (2003); Tennessee’s Michael Munoz (2004); LSU’s Rudy Niswanger (2005); Rutgers’ Brian Leonard (2006); Texas’ Dallas Griffin (2007); Cal’s Alex Mack (2008); Florida’s Tim Tebow (2009); Texas’ Sam Acho (2010); and Army’s Andrew Rodriguez (2011).




Football Bowl Subdivision

Alabama — Barrett Jones

Arkansas — Dylan Breeding

Army — Zach Watts

Auburn — Ashton Richardson

Ball State — Scott Kovanda

Baylor — Nick Florence

Brigham Young — Riley Nelson

California — Matt Summers-Gavin

Central Florida — Lyle Dankenbring

Clemson — Dalton Freeman

Colorado — Dustin Ebner

Duke — Sean Renfree

Eastern Michigan — Alex Gillett

Florida — Caleb Sturgis

Florida State — Dustin Hopkins

Georgia — Ty Frix

Indiana — Adam Replogle

Iowa — James Vandenberg

Iowa State — Carter Bykowski

Kentucky — Matt Smith

Louisiana Tech — Matt Nelson

Mississippi — Tyler Campbell

Missouri — T.J. Moe

Navy — Keegan Wetzel

Nebraska — Rex Burkhead

North Carolina — Pete Mangum

North Carolina State — McKay Frandsen

Northern Illinois — Nabal Jefferson

Northwestern — Patrick Ward

Notre Dame — Manti Te’o

Ohio — Matt Weller

Ohio State — Ben Buchanan

Penn State — Pete Massaro

Purdue — Robert Maci

Rutgers — Duron Harmon

San Jose State — Travis Johnson

South Carolina — Seth Strickland

South Florida — Evan Landi

Southern California — Matt Barkley

Syracuse — Ryan Nassib

Texas — Marquise Goodwin

Texas Tech — Cody Davis

Toledo — Dan Molls

UCLA — Jeff Locke

Utah — Sean Sellwood

Virginia Tech — Joey Phillips

West Virginia — Jeff Braun

Western Michigan — Chris Prom

Wisconsin — Shelton Johnson

Wyoming — Luke Ruff

About WRUF Staff

Check Also


Around the World of SEC Football: Week 4

In case you made the mistake of not being around a TV on Saturday, here’s …