Florida sophomore Michael Robertson (11) is congratulated after his walk-off double to help the Gators win in the bottom of the 13th inning of the NCAA Clemson Super Regional at Doug Kingsmore Stadium on Sunday. [Ken Ruinard - USA TODAY Sports]

College World Series Field Nearly Set

The NCAA College World Series starts Friday in Omaha, Neb. Seven teams have already secured a spot.

Recap of Super Regionals

In the Knoxville Super Regional, Tennessee secured its advancement with a commanding 12-1 win against Evansville on Sunday night.

Florida State triumphed in the Tallahassee Super Regional, overpowering UConn in two games to secure their place in the CWS.

Virginia emerged victorious in the Charlottesville Super Regional, eliminating Kansas State.

In the Chapel Hill Super Regional, North Carolina advanced after pushing out West Virginia in two closely contested games.

Kentucky earned their advancement from the Lexington Super Regional by eliminating Oregon State.

The Clemson Super Regional witnessed Florida’s progression after a 13-inning showdown against Clemson.

Texas A&M progressed from the Bryan-College Station Super Regional by ousting Oregon.

Closing Game To Advance to World Series

There is only one game left and one spot left in the College World Series. No. 10 NC State plays No. 7 Georgia tonight at 7 PM. In game 1 of the series North Carolina State dominated Georgia 18-1. Following in game 2, Georgia came back and beat them 11-2. Whoever wins this next one will advance.

Matchups Set

All but one matchup is set and ready for the first round of the College World Series. The seven finalists are awaiting the last qualifier to set the times for the games. Notably, top-seeded Tennessee is taking on No. 8 Florida State in the World Series opener. Furthermore, No. 4 North Carolina is going to play No. 12 Virginia. Additionally, No. 3 Texas A&M will face Florida this upcoming Saturday.

Meanwhile, No. 2 Kentucky is facing the winner of tonight’s game between No. 7 Georgia and No. 10 NC State in Athens. This final game will be the deciding factor for the scheduling of the other matchups.

Only Two Conferences in World Series

Wins by Kentucky, Florida, Texas A&M and Tennessee means that only two conferences will be in the College World Series. For the first time since the CWS adopted its eight-team format in 1950, only two conferences are represented. It comes as no surprise that these are the SEC and ACC, as they were the dominant conferences in the power rankings by a significant margin.

About rileydiedrick

Check Also

Florida State Faces Tennessee in First Round of College World Series

No. 8 Florida State (47-15) takes on No. 1 Tennessee (55-12) on Friday in the …