Scott Rolen
Hall of Fame inductees Fred McGriff, left, and Scott Rolen, right, pose for a picture during the National Baseball Hall of Fame induction ceremony, Sunday, July 23, 2023, at the Clark Sports Center in Cooperstown, N.Y. (AP Photo/Bryan Bennett)

Scott Rolen and Fred McGriff Turn 809 Homeruns into 2 Hall of Fame Inductions

The Baseball Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony took place on Sunday. The two inductees, Scott Rolen and Fred McGriff, were honored in Cooperstown, New York in front of thousands of attendees. Both Rolen and McGriff could not help but get emotional as they received recognition for all the work they put into their careers.

Scott Rolen

Scott Rolen started off his career as a second-round pick by the Philadelphia Phillies. He earned recognition early on when he became the 1997 National League Rookie of the Year. As he progressed in the league, he experienced four jersey changes. This includes the Philadelphia Phillies (1996-2002), St. Louis Cardinals (2002-2007), Toronto Blue Jays (2008-2009) and the Cincinnati Reds (2009-2012).

Throughout his time as a third baseman, Rolen won eight Gold Gloves, was a seven-time All-Star, and even won a World Series as a Cardinal in 2006. When he retired in 2012 with 316 home runs under his bat, it was no question that he left his mark in MLB history.

As he gave his speech after receiving his induction, Rolen thanked his family and team. While fighting off tears, Rolen gave much praise and gratitude to his wife and children for his new accolade.

Fred McGriff

Fred McGriff had an unconventional start to his career. After he was selected in the 1981 draft, he signed with the New York Yankees. However, McGriff was traded before he made it to the Major League stage. McGriff officially came up to bat in 1986 with the Toronto Blue Jays in 1986. Throughout his career he played with the Toronto Blue Jays (1986-1990), San Diego Padres (1991-1993), Atlanta Braves (1993-1997), Tampa Bay Devil Rays (1998-2001), Chicago Cubs (2001-2002), Los Angeles Dodgers (2003) and the Tampa Bay Devil Rays (2004).

McGriff retired in 2004 with 493 career homeruns. While he may have had constant team travels, one thing that stayed the same was his undeniable impact to baseball. McGriff won three Silver Slugger Awards, made five All-Star appearances and won a World Series with the Atlanta Braves in 1995. During his induction McGriff expressed gratitude to friends, family, teammates, and the city of Tampa.

Scott Rolen gained the induction with a 76.3% vote and Fred McGriff gained the induction by a unanimous 100% vote. While their smiles and embrace were the pinnacle of the induction weekend, their legacy is what will stay in the hearts of fans of MLB forever.

About Joanna Shillingford

Check Also

Willie Mays: Remembering a Legend

The baseball world continues to mourn the loss of a legend, Willie Mays, who passed …