ESPN 850 WRUF – Gainesville, Florida

Baseball Hall Of Fame Tabs Larkin For Induction

By on January 10th, 2012

Major League Baseball has one more new member to its Hall of Fame today after former Cincinnati Reds shortstop Barry Larkin was elected to the Hall on Monday.

Larkin, the 1995 MVP and also World Series champ with the Reds in 1990 is the only player elected to the Hall of Fame this year. Larkin got 86.4 percent of the vote to get in; next in line was pitcher Jack Morris who received 66.7 percent; 75 percent is needed for enshrinement.

Next year, a host of big names will be on the ballot like Roger Clemens, Mike Piazza, Barry Bonds, and Curt Schilling.

Larkin helped to revolutionize the shortstop position from a good fielding, no hit spot to a position that also included excellent hitting and power. He joins former Cubs infielder Ron Santo going into the Hall this year after he was elected by the Veteran’s Committee.

Short URL:
This entry was posted in MLB. Bookmark the permalink.