Home / College Football / Wuerffel Named To College Football Hall of Fame

Wuerffel Named To College Football Hall of Fame

The National Football Foundation today announced its full class for the College Football Hall of Fame and it includes former Gator and Heisman Trophy winning quarterback Danny Wuerffel.

Wuerffel is joined by, among others, fellow Heisman winners in quarterback Vinny Testaverde and running back Ron Dayne.  In all, 12 players and two coaches will be in the 2013 class, among them quarterback Tommie Frazier of Nebraska, linebacker Tedy Bruschi of Arizona and linebacker Percy Snow of Michigan State.

Wuerffel is the tenth Gator to be inducted into the College Hall of Fame; others include wide receiver Carlos Alvarez, running back Emmitt Smith, defensive lineman Jack Youngblood and linebacker Wilber Marshall.

Wuerffel says when he heard he was selected, one of the first things he thought about was his time at the University of Florida and how it was a team effort.

Wuerffel says he feels honored to be in a class with so many great players.

As Wuerffel reflected on his years at Florida, he said it was all a blessing.

Wuerffel and other inductees will be honored at the National Football Foundation annual Awards Dinner in New York City at the Waldorf Astoria, December 10th, 2013.

About Dana Lewin

Check Also


Gators in the U.S. Olympic Swimming Trials

The U.S. Olympic Swimming trials are underway in Omaha Nebraska and 10 Gators, past and …